Steering Committee

On the one hand, the steering committee consists of five members from the three participating universities. On the other hand, the committee also includes academics who want to be responsible for the development and organization of one of the research fields. The committee discusses the strategic orientation of the competence field “Metropolitan Research”.

The following academics are members of the three participating universities:

The Ruhr-University Bochum

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Berger
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Bogumil
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Kiese
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg-Peter Schräpler
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Zepp

The Technical University of Dortmund

  • Prof. Dr. Ludger Basten
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Frank
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sonne
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Welzel
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Othengrafen

The University of Duisburg-Essen

  • Dr. Michael Eisinger
  • Dipl.-Umweltwiss. Klaus Krumme
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Moebus
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Noche
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf Parr

The academics who are responsible for setting up and organizing the research fields are:

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Greiving (TU DO)
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Hering (UDE)
  • PD Dr. habil. Ani Melkonyan (UDE)
  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Wittowsky (UDE)