Steering Committee

The steering committee consists of five members from each of the participating universities. The committee discusses the strategic orientation of the competence field “Metropolitan Research”.

The following academics are members of the steering committee:

The Ruhr-University Bochum

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Berger
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Bogumil
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Kiese
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg-Peter Schräpler
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Zepp

The Technical University of Dortmund

  • Prof. Dr. Ludger Basten
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Frank
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sonne
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Welzel
  • Prof. Dr. Karsten Zimmermann

The University of Duisburg-Essen

  • Dr. Michael Eisinger
  • Dipl.-Umweltwiss. Klaus Krumme
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Moebus
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Noche
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf Parr


The extended steering committee involves academics who have shown themselves to be responsible for the development of the research fields.

Dazu zählen:

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Greiving (TU DO)
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Hering (UDE)
  • PD Dr. habil. Ani Melkonyan (UDE)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Mietzner (TU DO)
  • Prof. Dr. Ute Schneider (UDE)
  • Dr. Frank Weichert (TU DO)
  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Wittowsky (UDE)